List of Orange Cap Winners in IPL | From 2008 to 2023

The orange cap is given to the batsmen who score the most runs in the Indian Premier League. An orange cap is given to each cricketer in each season. The cricketer has to wear an orange cap while fielding and it is a huge privilege. 

David Warner has won the Orange Cap three times, while Chris Gayle has won it twice in the history of IPL. Virat Kohli, the batsman who has scored the most runs (973) in a single IPL season, has won the Orange Cap once. These players are popular among IPL Betting enthusiasts. Let’s explore the complete list of players who won the orange cap. 

 Orange Cap Winners – IPL All Seasons

The first season of IPL started in 2008. So far, 16 seasons have been completed. Let’s see the details of the Orange Cap winners in this table.

Year Winner Team Matches Runs
2008 Shaun Marsh PBKS 11 616
2009 Matthew Hayden CSK 12 572
2010 Sachin Tendulkar MI 15 618
2011 Chris Gayle RCB 12 608
2012 Chris Gayle RCB 15 733
2013 Michael Hussey CSK 16 733
2014 Robin Uthappa KKR 16 660
2015 David Warner SRH 14 562
2016 Virat Kohli RCB 16 973
2017 David Warner SRH 14 641
2018 Kane Williamson SRH 17 735
2019 David Warner SRH 12 692
2020 KL Rahul PBKS 14 670
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad CSK 16 635
2022 Jos Butler RR 17 863
2023 Shubman Gill GT 17 890
See also  Maximizing the Potential of the Canvas Website

 2023 IPL – Orange Cap Winner – Shubman Gill (GT)

Shubman Gill became the winner of the Orange Cap in the 2023 Indian Premier League. He scored 3 centuries and 4 half centuries at a strike rate of 157 this season. Gili is the second batsman after Virat Kohli and Jos Buttler to score more than 800 runs in an IPL season. Shubman Gill played a key role as Gujarat Titans reached the IPL final for the second time in a row.

 2022 IPL – Orange Cap Winner – Jos Butler (RR)

After 2008 IPL, Jos Buttler played a key role for Rajasthan to reach the final again in 2022. In 2022 IPL, Jos Buttler scored 863 runs in 17 matches with a strike rate of 149. It has 4 centuries and 4 half centuries. Buttler became the second cricketer after Virat Kohli to score more than 800 runs.

 2021 IPL – Orange Cap Winner – Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK)

2021 Indian Premier League Orange Cap winner Ruthuraj Gaikwad. Ruthuraj, who played for the Chennai Super Kings team, played consistently throughout the season, from the beginning to the end. Scored 635 runs in 16 matches, including one century and four half-centuries. Ruthuraj Gaikwad has a strike rate of 136 and a batting average of 45.

 2020 IPL – Orange Cap Winner – KL Rahul (PBKS)

KL Rahul has provided excellent batting for the Punjab Kings team in the 2020 IPL season. In this season, Punjab team finished in the 6th position. KL Rahul scored 670 runs in 14 matches in IPL 2020. It includes one century and five half-centuries. The strike rate is 129, while the batting average is 55.

See also  Top 5 US Sweepstakes Casino Welcome Bonus Offers

 2019 IPL – Orange Cap Winner – David Warner (SRH)

David Warner has played brilliantly in the Indian Premier League in 2019. Moreover, he became the only cricketer to win the orange cap three times in the IPL tournament. Warner received the Orange Cap from Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2015, 2017 and 2019 IPL seasons. David Warner, who played 12 matches in IPL 2019, scored a total of 692 runs. It includes a century and eight half-centuries. The strike rate is 143, while the batting average is 69.

 Orange Cap Winners in IPL – Final Thoughts

If we look at the history of the Indian Premier League, only six Indian cricketers have won the orange cap in all 16 seasons. Among them are Virat Kohli from RCB, Ruthuraj Gaikwad from CSK, Shubman Gill from GT, Sachin Tendulkar from MI, Robin Uthappa from KKR and KL Rahul from PBKS. Let’s wish the Indian batsman to be the winner of the orange cap in the IPL 2024.